The year of the Czech presidency in the Visegrad Group

Photo: Visegrad Group – V4 countries: Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland, Hungary

In the period from July 1 2023 to June 30 2024 the Czech Republic will hold presidency of the Visegrad Group – V4. It will replace Slovakia, which chaired V4 from mid-2022 and will end in mid-2023. The Visegrad Group’s operations are based solely on the principle of periodical meetings of the member states’ representatives on all levels (prime ministers, heads of states, ministers, experts, etc.). Official prime ministerial summits take place on an annual basis. Between these official summits—usually in June each year—one of V4 countries holds presidency over the group. 

The Visegrad Group (also known as the “Visegrad Four” or simply “V4”) reflects the efforts of the countries of the Central European region to work together in a number of fields of common interest within the all-European integration. Czechia, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia have always been part of a single civilization sharing cultural and intellectual values and common roots in diverse religious traditions, which they wish to preserve and further strengthen.

All the V4 countries aspired to become members of the European Union, perceiving their integration in the EU as another step forward in the process of overcoming artificial dividing lines in Europe through mutual support. They reached this aim in 2004 (1st May) when they all became members of the EU.

All the activities of the Visegrad Group are aimed at strengthening stability in the Central European region. The participating countries perceive their cooperation as a challenge and its success as the best proof of their ability to integrate also into such structures, such as the European Union.

For more information visit: